UMS Holdings Limited

Email This Print ThisCorporate Governance

Extracted from Annual Report 2016

The Board and Management of UMS Holdings Limited (the “Company”) is committed to maintaining high standards of corporate governance and practices that are essential to protect the interest of shareholders. Excellence in corporate governance will not only enhance and safeguard the interest of all our shareholders; it will also foster the stability and sustainability of the Group's performance that is crucial in the building of long-term shareholders' value.

This report describes the Group's corporate governance policies and processes with reference to the Code of Corporate Governance (the 'Code'). The Board is pleased to confirm that for the financial year ended 31 December 2016, the Company has generally adhered to the principles and guidelines of the Code and any deviations will be specified in this report.

The Board's Conduct of its Affairs – Principle 1

The Board comprises five Directors at the end of the year 2016, of which three, are Independent Directors. The Board provides entrepreneurial leadership, set strategic aims, and ensures that the necessary financial and human resources are in place for the Company to meet its objectives. It also establishes a framework of prudent and effective controls which enable risks to be assessed and managed. In addition, it reviews management performance, set the Group's values and standards, and ensure that obligations to shareholders and others are understood and met.

The key responsibilities of the Board include:

The Group has in place, a set of internal guidelines setting forth matters that require the Board's approval. Matters that specifically require the Board's approval are those involving:

To ensure smooth and effective running of the Group and to facilitate decision making, the Board has established various committees to assist in the discharge of its responsibilities. These committees operate under clearly defined terms of reference, which are headed by Independent Directors. The three committees are: